Law School’s Alumni Sworn Into U.S. Supreme Court

On November 30, 2015, Dean Malcolm L. Morris sponsored eight AJMLS alumni, along with two guests to be sworn into the U.S. Supreme Court (hereinafter referred to as Court). The criteria for being sworn into the Court are that an attorney:

  • Must have been sworn into the highest court in the state in which they are licensed for at least three years.
  • Be in good standing with that court.

Those sworn in include:

  • Ginger Arnold (’11)
  • David Blackburn and his daughter, alumni Lara Blackburn Carillo (’12)
  • Jesse Kent (’09)
  • Prof. Stacey Mitchener
  • Terrye Nash (’10)
  • Hon. Ronald Ramsey, Sr. (’92)
  • Heather Riggs (’11)
  • Joshua Smith (’00)
  • Margaret Spencer (’05)

The evening before the swearing in, everyone shared a wonderful evening with their family and friends at a reception hosted by the school’s Alumni Office at the renowned Willard Hotel. The attendees dined on delicious hand-passed hors d’oeuvres and sipped on refreshments from the bar. It was a lovely event in the beautifully decorated room called “The Nest.”

On the day of the swearing in, the soon-to-be admittees enjoyed breakfast with their guests in the East Conference room of the Court. It was a wonderful photo opportunity as a large picture of former Chief Justice John Marshall hangs over the mantel of the fireplace.

After breakfast, the Clerk of the Court escorts the guests into the courtroom and the attorneys are ushered in just prior to the Court beginning its session. After being sworn in by the Clerk of the Court, the newly admitted attorneys and guests remained in the courtroom to watch the first oral argument. Needless to say, they were appreciative that they weren’t presenting a case that day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.